The Next meeting of the Trust will be held on Tuesday 10 June 2014


  • Joyce Connon, Workers’ Educational Association
  • David Fletcher, publishing consultant and author’s agent
  • Professor Emeritus W. Hamish Fraser, historian, University of Strathclyde
  • Bernard Beagan, UNITE
  • Dr Hugh Hagan, National Archives of Scotland
  • Dorothy Kidd, National Museums of Scotland
  • Dr Cathlin Macaulay, School of Scottish Studies, University of Edinburgh
  • Helen Martin, Assistant Secretary, STUC
  • Janet McBain, formerly Curator Scottish Screen Archive
  • Ian D McGowan, formerly Librarian, National Library of Scotland (Treasurer)
  • Dr Andrew Perchard, researcher, University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Emerita Siân Reynolds, historian, University of Stirling (Chair)
  • Martyn Wade, the National Librarian
  • Liam Paterson, Assistant Curator, Scottish Screen Archive


  • Dr Neal Acherson, writer, historian and journalist
  • Gordon Dalyell, solicitor
  • Richard Hunter, Edinburgh City Archives
  • Dr Catriona Macdonald, Glasgow  University
  • Dr Ian MacDougall
  • Councillor Eric Milligan, Edinburgh
  • Matt Smith, UNISON
  • Ronald A Smith, general secretary, Educational Institute of Scotland
  • Professor Chris Whatley, historian, University of Dundee
  • Lord Wheatley, Senator of the College of Justice

Research Workers:

The Trust’s main research worker  Dr Ian MacDougall, one of the leading practitioners in Oral History retired in 2013.

Other voluntary research workers are:

  • Neil Macvicar on farm workers
  • Julia Bohlmann on Co-operative Society workers